ServicesLocations & DirectionsPatients & VisitorsHealth ResourcesCareersContact UsFind a Doctor
A A A| Email | | Share

Nursing Awards

Related Items

Quick Links

PinnacleHealth nurses are Proven, having received the prestigious Magnet recognition for nursing excellence. There are also many in house awards to recognize the awesome care our nursing staff provides.

The Highest Recognition for Nursing Excellence …

In December 2006, PinnacleHealth received the prestigious Magnet recognition for nursing excellence from the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). Magnet designation is a hallmark of quality and represents our commitment to the highest national standards for practice and professional development. PinnacleHealth nurses have distinguished themselves in other ways as well, as evidenced by the many awards and accolades to their credit. Truly, the image of nursing at PinnacleHealth is strengthened by the accomplishments of our nurses; but even more, our image is fortified by our nurses’ commitment to excellence, service, and professional development.

2010 Nursing Awards

Category: Clinical Inquiry
This award acknowledges the nurse who engages in clinical knowledge development to promote best patient outcomes. This nurse is involved in the ongoing process of questioning and evaluating care for the promotion of evidence based practice. This nurse actively conducts unit-based or organizational evidence-based practice projects and/or research.
Nominees: Tiffany Boyd, CINT, Donna Roller, Peds, Joyce Hocker, NICU
Winner: Tiffany Boyd, CINT

Category: Novice Nurse 
This award is an opportunity to applaud the emerging contributions of a beginning practitioner in the first year as a Registered Nurse and demonstrates growth in learning basic knowledge skills related to the practice setting. This nurse consistently solicits and integrates feedback and peer review skills, organizes and prioritizes well, based on patient needs and unit activities. 
Nominees: Keatha Gardner, Main 4, Alexis Gander, Main 9, Sarah Weaver, CTPO
Winner: Sarah Weaver, CTPO

Category: Facilitator of Learning
This award is for the nurse who goes above and beyond expectations to develop others by displaying exemplary communication skills with patients, families and other members of the team and is seen as a resource in his/her respective area.
Nominees: Jeanne Packer Gotwalt, Learning Institute, Melinda Paul, NICU, Susan Spencer, Float Pool
Winner: Jeanne Packer Gotwalt, Learning Institute

Category: Teamwork 
This award is for the nurse who exemplifies teamwork in all aspects of the professional nurse role. It includes empowering patients, families and coworkers, collaborating with all members of the team, mutual respect, cooperation and working toward the best outcome for the patient, the department, and PinnacleHealth.
Nominees: Emily Golden, CTPO, Jennifer Lenosky, Main 10,  
Elizabeth Welch, Main 4
Winner: Emily Golden, CTPO

Category: Pride in PinnacleHealth Nursing
This award is for the nurse who demonstrates a visible feeling of pride in the accomplishments of PinnacleHealth Nursing. This nurse has a strong community presence and is instrumental in building relationships that demand respect for Nursing and the organization. This nurse is appreciative and brings honor to the System and the profession thereby promoting a positive image of nursing.
Nominees: Michell Leeper, IV Team, Susan Brackbill, NICU, Cathy Zubricke, Main 9
Winner: Michell Leeper, IV Team

Category: Patient Advocate 
This award acknowledges the nurse who consistently acts as an agent for the patient, family and community providing support and encouragement in all aspects of care as defined in the Patient Bill of Rights. This nurse serves as a moral agent to resolve ethical and clinical concerns in the clinical setting.
Nominees: Bridget Abbott, North 9, Ashley Heatley, Main 4, Autumn Seifert, Main 5
Winner: Bridget Abbott, North 9

Category: Leadership in Nursing 
This award acknowledges any nurse who conveys a strong sense of advocacy and support on behalf of the staff. This nurse leader acts as a catalyst for change to promote an environment in which high quality care can be provided. 
Nominees: Lisa Casey, Main 5,  Sue Dwyer, NICU,  Mary Beth Heller, Peds
Winner: Lisa Casey, Main 5